Posted by: rodentsandreptiles | April 23, 2011

First post: meet the gang

Firstly (and I promise to stay in the background in the future), meet Darcy, your host:
2011-02-24

I’ve had rodents since I was 8 years old, and rats since I was 18. I currently have 8 ratties in my rodent/reptile room, which doubles as my bedroom, as well as 2 guinea pigs, a bearded dragon and a crested gecko. Across the corridor in my mother’s room are another 7 rats, 1 guinea pig, and a rabbit. The household also features 3 cats (the reason why small animals are in bedrooms), a dog, 3 hens, another rabbit, 3 horses, some Indian stick insects and two fish tanks (one coldwater, featuring white cloud minnows and orandas, one tropical, featuring a betta, some tetra, a clown loach and a plec). I’m now 24 years old, and work nights in an admin job to pay for my animal-related interests.

The rats are currently in five groups in total. Group one, the old men, features Eliot and Moosie in the top half of an Explorer cage. They turned two on April 1st, and spend most of their time resting.

Moosie 2010-10-18
Moosie

Eliot 2010-10-18 02
Eliot

Group two, the disabled cage, features Septimus, who I adopted because he has a permanent head tilt caused by an ear infection as a baby, and his brother Orlando, who has the biggest personality of any rat I’ve ever met.

Orlando 2
Orlando
Group three, the girls: three sisters, Lily, Bambi and Trouble. Lily’s the out-going one, Bambi’s the shy one, Trouble’s the defensive one. Missy is group four at the moment, a rescue who’s having problems integrating with the three sisters.

Group five: Mother’s girls. The eldest are Freddie, Mag and Twig, aged 2 and a half, then Mallow and Raisin (around a year old), then Dawn and Misty (9 months).
Frederica's computer time
Frederica's computer time
Freddie
2010-01-03 Girls 01
Freddie and Twig

My guinea pigs, Chloe and Poppet, are around a year and three months old. Chloe’s a Coronet, Poppet’s an Abyssinian cross Peruvian (I think Peruvian based on the length of her hair). They have a Ferplast cage by my bed, and a Pets at Home run in the garden for fine days.
Poppet September 01
Poppet
Chloe and Poppet September 02
Poppet and Chloe

Irwin the crested gecko is around 6-8 months old. He’s got a shorter tail than normal, presumably from a fight before I got him. He lives in an Exo-terra vivarium.
2011-03-04 Irwin

Keiko the bearded dragon is my newest acquisition, acquired from a family who didn’t have time for him. He’s a year old, and lives in a 4ft Vivexotic vivarium.
2011-04-23 disdainful Keiko
2011-04-23 angry Keiko

Leave a Reply

Categories

