Posted by: rodentsandreptiles | July 24, 2011

Newcomers

I’ve gained another two spiders since my last update, a Lasidora parahybana and a Brachypelma smithi.

Here’s Gulliver, the L. parahybana:
2011-07-24 Gulliver

He’s unsexed, but looks more male than my other three – more leggy. He looks tiny here, but he’s about the same size as the two Brachypelma – an inch span of about 1.5 inches.

Here’s Emily, the B. smithi:
2011-07-24 Emily

She’s a very stressy sort, and very prone to flicking hairs. She got so nervous when I fed her that she came running out of her tub onto my hand, which was just a tad alarming, but since being transferred to a cricket tub with corners she can hide in she hasn’t done it again. She’s so pretty, isn’t she?

Miss Tequila remains convinced that my sole goal in life is to steal her crickets. She’s normally good-natured, unless I’ve just fed her, in which case she gets very crotchety and tends to kick hairs at me. Clearly she doesn’t realise that if I wanted a cricket I’d catch, kill and eat my own: I’ve no need for the one I’ve just given her!

In actual reptile and rodent news, I’ve transferred Deviant to her big girl vivarium, which looks rather good:
2011-07-24 Deviant's new abode

She loves her bigger space.

I’m fostering a small litter of baby ratties at the moment – no photos of them because I don’t want to stress them, but Mummy’s a black dumbo, and there are four babies.

Responses

  1. You’ve made Deviant a lovely home. I especially like that African hut.

    • Thank you! The hut’s actually aimed at rabbits, but I thought it would fit in very well with Deviant’s vivarium, and she loves hiding in it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

